Ladybirds love Nettles

Nettles

Nettles are a favourite egg laying plant for ladybirds and by leaving a patch of nettles to develop in your garden, you will be helping them to increase their numbers, and be able to watch the strange-looking larvae as well.

Christine visited me from Manchester last night (whenever I think of Manchester, I think of Man United and that is why Jesus came – to see Man United with God and fellow Man). I mentioned to Christine that there was a School of Prophets meeting at Nettle Hill today and she immediately said she would like to come. I noticed she had a bag with ladybirds printed on it and was reminded that someone had told me in the past that ladybirds like nettles (seemed to be a sign that it wasn’t just that Christine wanted to go to the meeting at Nettle Hill, but that God wanted her to be there too).

We aimed to set off at 8:00 a.m. this morning, but actually left at 8:38 a.m. by the clock in my car – a Citroen Saxo 1.1 Desire. (When I first saw my car in 2006 I was reminded of Psalm 37:4 “Delight yourself in the LORD and He will give you the desires of your heart”.)

So, we set off for Nettle Hill this morning at 8:38 a.m. and I was reminded of Romans 8:38/39 (New Living Translation)  38 And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. 39 No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.

As we journeyed along, somewhere near Kingsmill Hospital my attention was drawn to a car displaying an ICHTHUS sticker with a difference – it was a fish (an ancient Christian symbol), incorporating the Star of David and the menorah (Jewish symbols), similar to this:

Because my attention had been drawn to this car, I looked at the reg plate and saw 278. I asked Christine to look up Psalm 27:8, to see if it were a scripture that would be encouraging. This verse says (in the New Living Translation)  8 My heart has heard you say, “Come and talk with me.” And my heart responds, “Lord, I am coming.” 

What a wonderful message to receive from God on a day when we are travelling to seek His face.

When we arrived at Nettle Hill the clock in my car said 10:10 a.m. and I was reminded of John 10:10 (New King James Version) “The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.”

In the car park was a van with the word DOVE on it, a reminder of the story of Noah and the Ark: Genesis 8:10-12 (NIV)10 He waited seven more days and again sent out the dove from the ark. 11 When the dove returned to him in the evening, there in its beak was a freshly plucked olive leaf! Then Noah knew that the water had receded from the earth. 12 He waited seven more days and sent the dove out again, but this time it did not return to him.

And also of Jesus’ baptism – Mark 1:9-11 (NIV)  9 At that time Jesus came from Nazareth in Galilee and was baptized by John in the Jordan. 10 Just as Jesus was coming up out of the water, he saw heaven being torn open and the Spirit descending on him like a dove. 11 And a voice came from heaven: “You are my Son, whom I love; with you I am well pleased.”

The first person I spotted as I walked towards the meeting room building was Mike from New Life, Chesterfield (who lived in Leatherhead in his childhood). As we entered the building, I then saw all the people congregated around the tea and coffee in the reception area were from New Life too. So nice to see friendly faces when you come to a new venue (neither Christine or I having been to Nettle Hill before).

As I looked around the room that we were meeting in, I was reminded of

Scott from Clay Cross was there and whenever I see him I am reminded of the song “Where the Spirit of the Lord is there is LIBERTY”

2 Corinthians 3:15-18 (NIV)  15 Even to this day when Moses is read, a veil covers their hearts. 16 But whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away. 17 Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. 18 And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.

We sang of God’s Amazing Grace

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

T’was Grace that taught my heart to fear.
And Grace, my fears relieved.
How precious did that Grace appear
The hour I first believed.

Through many dangers, toils and snares
I have already come;
‘Tis Grace that brought me safe thus far
and Grace will lead me home.

The Lord has promised good to me.
His word my hope secures.
He will my shield and portion be,
As long as life endures.

Yea, when this flesh and heart shall fail,
And mortal life shall cease,
I shall possess within the veil,
A life of joy and peace.

When we’ve been here ten thousand years
Bright shining as the sun.
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise
Than when we’ve first begun.

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

(John Newton – 1725-1807) 

 

Carl spoke of the need for Intimacy with God, which reminded me of my Psalm 139 story. We were reminded to “Remain in Jesus” (John 15). Carl brought a message of HOPE that God had asked him to bring to everyone – Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV) 11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

And, as I look this up in the Bible I am encouraged to read further: 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 14 I will be found by you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back from captivity.I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.”

Carl spoke of ministering in Leatherhead and of something special happening to him on 23 February 2010 and of then finding out that John Wesley delivered his last preach on 23 February 1791 in Leatherhead and the following day sent a Letter of Hope to his convert William Wilberforce encouraging him to take action against slavery. (Wesley’s last preach was on Isaiah 55:6  (NIV) Seek the LORD while he may be found;  call on him while he is near.

It was good to hear news of Leatherhead, since I was a member of the Leatherhead church Carl spoke of when I lived in Leatherhead in 2004/5.

The word HOPE reminded me that God had birthed in me at a prayer meeting in St Saviour’s Church in Guildford (at the other end of the A246 from Leatherhead) a desire for a House Of Prayer and Evangelism.

There is much more to tell of the meeting with God today at Nettle Hill, but I was blessed when I got into my car to return to Derbyshire this afternoon and saw that the clock said 3:16 p.m. John 3:16 (NIV) says “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life”.  All around the walls of the room we had met in today were plaques representing each of the continents of the world where live the people that Jesus came to save.

About jacquismith

I am a born again Christian (a follower of Jesus). I know that God loves me and He has a good purpose for my life. Psalm 139 tells me that He knew me before I was born and that every day ordained for me was written in the book before one came to pass. I know that I was put on this earth for a purpose and that my main purpose is simply to worship God. I hope you enjoy reading of some of the ways God has spoken to me through my life...
This entry was posted in Bible, Chesterfield, Church, Guildford, History, Hope, Jesus, Leatherhead. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

