The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord

I recently stayed for a couple of nights in Guildford (with the family I lived with before I moved to Derbyshire at Easter 2010). The reason for my visit to Surrey was to visit the hospital my sister is presently staying in, as there was a Care Planning meeting. The meeting was on Wednesday 9 March (Hilary Swift’s birthday).

A while back I got an iPod for my sister and, because I was not allowed to take my laptop into the hospital to update my sister’s iPod with new songs,  I exchanged iPods with my sister on this visit. I was really excited to see that her iPod (with over 800 songs on it) was playing “The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord”  when I exchanged iPods.

I was reminded of the time in September 2008 when I needed either to have a new home in the Weybridge area or to move to my flat in Derbyshire. I remember buying a pair of purple shoes from Top Shop and they had a Swift printed on the sole of one shoe and a Swallow on the sole of the other shoe. I remember then going shopping on my wedding anniversary, 10 September 2008, in Walton on Thames with Rachel (whom I worked with at Compassion UK) and buying a swallow brooch in the same colour as my bridesmaids’ dresses and the Holy Spirit bringing to mind the scripture Psalm 84:3 “Even the sparrow has found a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may have her young–a place near your altar, O LORD Almighty, my King and my God.”  and thinking that God had the matter of my new home settled.

I remember that I then saw an advert at St Saviour’s, Guildford for a room to rent at the Castro’s home and I went to meet the family and see the room on 13 September 2008 (see Psalm 139 http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm%20139:13-16&version=NIV).

As I parked across the road from the pathway leading to the Castro’s home, I noted I was parked outside house no. 150 (see Psalm 150 – the final psalm and what I like to think of as the end of the story, just as I like to think of Psalm 139 as the beginning http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm%20150&version=NIV).

I then was just about to walk across the road to the pathway when a car came down the road and I saw the registration plate 418. I immediately thought of a scripture that is very dear to my heart – Luke (God chose for me to be born on St Luke’s day) 4:18 (the scripture Jesus read in the synagogue when his ministry started was Luke 4:18 –The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor.  He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to set the oppressed free,). I thought that it was simply God’s way of encouraging me as I was on my way to be interviewed for the room in the house and interviews are always a bit difficult. However ……..

I had a lovely welcome from Dawn and she led me to a seat at the table in the kitchen, facing the wall on which was this painting that had been commissioned by Dawn and her husband.

It is the very same scripture that God had reminded me of (Luke 4:18-19), but in Spanish, the language of Dawn’s husband’s homeland.

We agreed on my moving to this room and the following day I flew out with two friends/colleagues from Compassion UK to Uganda for my previous flatmate’s wedding, landing on 15 September 2008 (the 5th anniversary of my receiving a prophecy that I would be connected with Africa and may even go there!!). After agreeing to move to the room in Guildford, Dawn told me that they also had a lodger who was African.

So, the Swallow had a nest, but where did the Swift feature. I moved to my home in Guildford on 1st October 2008 and Hilary Swift started working at Compassion UK on the very same day. God is amazing and has all of us in the palm of His hand.

About jacquismith

I am a born again Christian (a follower of Jesus). I know that God loves me and He has a good purpose for my life. Psalm 139 tells me that He knew me before I was born and that every day ordained for me was written in the book before one came to pass. I know that I was put on this earth for a purpose and that my main purpose is simply to worship God. I hope you enjoy reading of some of the ways God has spoken to me through my life...
This entry was posted in Bible, Guildford, Uganda. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

