St George’s Day 2011

Sitting waiting at the Station, by Railway Bridge No. 53, I was reminded of Isaiah 53 that prophecies the coming Christ. I was wearing my “Belt of Truth” that tells those who can see it “Jesus loves you”; I began to have a sense of the spiritual significance of the symbolism of the events that are taking place this year at this time.

I am reminded of the Apostles Creed that I learnt as a child.

The day before St George’s Day was Good Friday – a time when we particularly remember Jesus dying on the Cross for our Healing and Salvation and Reconciliation with Father God. This year, the Saturday (He descended into Hell) was St George’s Day – symbolic of the defeat of the dragon.  Easter Sunday – when we remember that Jesus was Raised from the Dead, was followed on Friday 29 April 2011 by the Royal Wedding of Prince William and Catherine. This seems symbolic of the fact that Jesus (the bridegroom) is coming back for His Church (the bride). Ephesians 5:22-33 and Revelation 19:7.

On St George’s Day this year I set off on the 10:58 a.m. train towards Nottingham (on the Robin Hood line).

What happened next seemed a little surreal. I sat on seat number 72. A seemingly good mother (Victoria) sat across from me on seat number 69 with her new born baby boy. Her beautiful looking daughter, Rose, sat beside her on seat number 70 and found a toy train (Percy – one of Thomas’ friends) on the seat and I thought how lovely that Jesus had arranged for her to have a toy to play with on the journey. Then a seemingly good dad (Dave) appeared wearing a black shirt with the word and numbers “LUCIFER 666” on it. WHY would such a nice man wear such a hideous shirt?! He sat on seat number 74 and Rose joined him on seat number 73. Then a reasonably well dressed man (who perhaps did not have hot running water in his house) sat beside me on seat number 71 and remarked that it was cool on the train (it was very warm and sunny outside but not warm enough to account for his odour). I felt secure in my little bubble of knowing that Jesus was directing my journey through life, but how could I introduce Jesus to my fellow travellers who seemingly did not know him. I felt sad for them, but could see no way of helping them. Perhaps Jesus just wanted me to meet them in order to pray for them as I travel. I don’t think I will forget them.

As we pulled in to Nottingham mum, Victoria, attempted to persuade her daughter to leave the toy train on the seat as the owner may come looking for it. Dad joined in with the persuasion by asking his daughter how she would feel if her toy had been left behind and was not there when she came looking for it.

We arrived at Nottingham and disembarked. How pleased I was to note that I do not have to traipse up and down stairs looking for the train to St Pancras. (Apparently St Pancras, apart from being a railway station in London, was a teenager who was beheaded for publicly declaring his faith in Jesus).

I took the 12:02 to St Pancras and sat on seat number 25 (with the blessing of facing forward with a table). I was reminded of the first Psalm I ever prayed (in 1994). It was “Psalm 25”.

The train passed through Market Harborough and I remembered my ex-husband, John Wilson, who worked for Golden Wonder and was based in Market Harborough.

To the right of me was a woman reading a book entitled Mr Maybe (about looking for “Mr Right” and making choices between a man with a tender heart and a man with a lot of cash) and across from me was a woman reading “The Three Weismanns” (about a divorced woman). I am a woman writing my own book about how I married Mr Right and when He left I found out that “Jesus loves me” and promises never to leave me Hebrews 13:5.

At the beginning of “the journey” there is a lot of excitement and everything seems significant and important, then it just becomes “the journey of life” – why is that I wonder?

It is important that we travel together rather than in our own little boxes (be that houses or cars). As humans we need to commune with God and our fellow human beings.

Arriving at Kettering a black lady and a white lady disembarked together (a lovely picture of the harmony across the nations that Jesus wants to bring). The white lady had a star tattooed on her shoulder – a reminder of “Reach for the Stars”.

A Spanish family sat with me. On their way to Luton Airport to take a plane home. Then when they left, a family of three generations (grandma and grandpa, mother and two children) sat with me, on their way to Gatwick Airport to go on holiday.

From St Pancras, I took the tube to Waterloo and finally arrived in Guildford to stay with Jorge (Spanish for George) and his family and their new lodger Mario. (A few weeks ago I found out that Nintendo has a game featuring Super Mario rescuing Princess Peach from a dragon – sounds a bit like the St George and the Dragon story to me; however, whether or not St George or Super Mario can rescue damsels in distress, I know that Jesus rescued me when I was in distress and He continues to rescue those in distress from the enemy of our souls.

About jacquismith

I am a born again Christian (a follower of Jesus). I know that God loves me and He has a good purpose for my life. Psalm 139 tells me that He knew me before I was born and that every day ordained for me was written in the book before one came to pass. I know that I was put on this earth for a purpose and that my main purpose is simply to worship God. I hope you enjoy reading of some of the ways God has spoken to me through my life...
This entry was posted in Bible, Father God, Guildford, Jesus, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

