I believe we are Special People in a Special Place at a Special Time in History

I am a great fan of Psalm 139, that tells me that I am fearfully and wonderfully made and that every day ordained for me was written in the book before one came to pass.

God chose for me to be born on St Luke’s Day and, like St Luke, I write stories. I was christened on St David of Wales’ Day; I was confirmed on St Joseph of Nazareth Day and was taken to North Wales for our Whitsun family holiday that year, visiting Llangollen where the man who was later to become my husband was christened. And I was baptised in Lincoln on St Hugh of Lincoln Day.

On Dambusters Day in 1998 I was walking across what was once Skellingthorpe Airbase in Lincoln on my way to church. I looked up into the sky and saw the Battle of Britain Memorial flight coming towards me overhead. As I looked at the planes – The Lancaster Bomber in the centre with the Spitfire and Hurricane fighter planes on either side – God transposed into my mind a photograph of me coming out of All Saints Church in Kingston upon Thames with my groom on one side and my best man on the other.

What God seemed to be telling me was that there is a Battle for the mind of Britain, but that the Bride’s weapon of warfare is the “Good News” and “Love” and that the Groom and the Best Man were the duckers and divers – the prayer warriors drawing the flak away as she did her job. Another interesting fact about my wedding party was that God chose for the best man to be born on 15 September (which is Battle of Britain day) and my two little bridesmaids lived at house number 159. I wondered for a few years why God chose for me to see the Battle of Britain flight on what I now know to be Dambusters Day (17 May), but eventually I was told that the Lancaster Bomber is part of both the Battle of Britain flight and the Dambusters Raid.

At Easter of 2010, God released me from my desk job in Surrey to move to Derbyshire, near where they practiced the Dambusters Raid and to start enjoying my creativity. So, Lancaster is a word that has special significance for me – a word that speaks of the Bride (the Church) and of her intimacy with the Bridegroom (Jesus) and of all that flows from that love relationship.

I believe that God will use our “Creativity” as a weapon of warfare against the enemy who wants to steal, kill and destroy our minds; he will use it in the business of transforming our minds. My desire for a number of years is that I might live in a big house in the country and have creative ideas available for people to come and try every day. I believe God is encouraging me in that dream.

On my best man’s birthday, Battle of Britain Day, in 2008 I landed in Uganda on my way to a wedding; on his Jubilee birthday in 2010, I was in my present home town near Chesterfield helping to run a workshop showing people how to make Ugandan beads. A month later, in October 2010, I was led to a large house south of Chesterfield that re-awakened my dream of a house for a creative ministry. On my groom’s jubilee birthday, 9 October (which is also Ugandan independence day) 2010, I was in the beautiful Ellel Grange near Lancaster, again involved in the thing I love to do – creativity. God is the God who makes dreams come true. I believe that He wants us to dream, to reach for the stars and in that dreaming and reaching for the stars we will win the battle for our minds.

And, what I didn’t know before going on the Creativity Course at Ellel Grange last October, was that God had arranged for a Ugandan lady called Eva, whom I met whilst working at Compassion UK, to be on the course that weekend.

I am led to tell this story now, because of the “Royal Wedding” of Prince William and Catherine Middleton. Prince William is currently the Patron of the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight and this Flight flew over Buckingham Palace to honour their wedding.

I believe that God has a special purpose for this royal couple, that He will unfold in the years to come. There was so much biblical truth in their wedding ceremony that was broadcast all over the world. Romans 12, read by James Middleton, has so much in it – about our being living sacrifices; about the necessity not to conform to the pattern of this world; but to have our minds renewed so that we might discern the will of God; about genuine love; not repaying evil with evil, etc.  Wonderful. I loved the fact that the bride’s family coat of arms had acorns on it, reminding me of the fact that acorns grow into oaks and that in turn reminding me of Oaks of Righteousness Isaiah 61:3.

A quote from the Bishop of London’s address at the Royal Wedding caught my attention. It was attributed to St Catherine of Siena, whose feast day it was on the day of the wedding: “Be who God meant you to be and you will set the world on fire.”

The LORD’s prayer was spoken at around noon during the wedding ceremony (and that is something that many Christians have been praying at noon for a few years now).

I also was struck by the fact that Prince William is stationed at RAF Valley (reminding me of Psalm 23) and that he is in the business of “search and rescue” just as Jesus is (Luke 19:10) since Jesus came to seek and save the lost.

There is much more to my story – things God has revealed to me now and things still to be revealed – but I just wanted to recite a humorous thing that happened. In 2005 I started working for Compassion UK (a Child Development Organisation in Weybridge in Surrey) as a Sponsor Relations Assistant. Ten months later two new Sponsor Relations Assistants were taken on (one of them, Nisha, was born in the same maternity hospital in Middlesex as myself, (but many years later), and the other, Jenny was born on Dambusters Day). The humorous thing that the interviewers didn’t notice was that Nisha’s surname was Banga and Jenny’s was Gunn. Thus “Bang a Gun”. Jenny married a year or two later and became Jenny Bacon – thus we now have “Banga and Bacon”.

About jacquismith

I am a born again Christian (a follower of Jesus). I know that God loves me and He has a good purpose for my life. Psalm 139 tells me that He knew me before I was born and that every day ordained for me was written in the book before one came to pass. I know that I was put on this earth for a purpose and that my main purpose is simply to worship God. I hope you enjoy reading of some of the ways God has spoken to me through my life...
This entry was posted in Anniversaries, Bible, Church, Compassion UK, History, Jesus, Lancaster, Lincoln, Love, Prayer, Spitfire, Uganda, Wales. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I believe we are Special People in a Special Place at a Special Time in History

  1. Natalie says:

    Hi Jacqui. I absolutely love your BLOG. Vada-Rai and I were watching Disney Cinderella last night and the bit where she sings ‘A dream is a dream your heart makes’ really touched me because I know that as you say God wants to keep dreaming and believe that He can and will bring it to pass. We just need to trust have faith and Never give up…… xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

