Romans 8:28

I have been reminded today of how God gave me the scripture Romans 8:28 a few years ago, when I was living in Lincoln.

I was working as a Temporary Secretary for a firm in the Bailgate area and a young girl had been working there, but had recently left. I felt we should send her a birthday card as it was her 18th birthday. I had a copy of UCB’s “Word for Today” notes and put the scripture for her birthday into the card and then took it around the building for the other staff to sign. When I came to Mr Dolby he asked what I had written and I said it was a scripture from the Bible. He responded by saying that he had been driving up the A1 one day and saw a scripture from Romans written across a bridge. I told him that the only scripture I knew from Romans was Romans 8:28 and I quoted this as “all things work together for good to those who love God”.

Imagine my surprise when I arrived home after work to discover that friends who had been walking in the woods near my home, but who knew nothing of what had happened at my work, had left a bunch of wild flowers outside my front door with this note attached.

What I hadn’t realised when I quoted Romans 8:28 at work that day, was that I had only quoted the first part of the scripture and had missed out the final part “who have been called according to His purpose”. However, God had miraculously placed the final part of the scripture on my doorstep for my return, using my friends who were fulfilling His purpose by placing those flowers with that scripture on my doorstep. Amazing the way that God reveals that He is with us every moment of the day.

About jacquismith

I am a born again Christian (a follower of Jesus). I know that God loves me and He has a good purpose for my life. Psalm 139 tells me that He knew me before I was born and that every day ordained for me was written in the book before one came to pass. I know that I was put on this earth for a purpose and that my main purpose is simply to worship God. I hope you enjoy reading of some of the ways God has spoken to me through my life...
This entry was posted in Bible, Father God, Friends, Lincoln. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

