Great God / Great Plan

In New Life Church this morning, I looked out of the window onto Holywell Street and saw the word “Gplan” and felt to say that we have a Great God and He has a Great Plan. One of the songs we sang was:

There is so much truth in this song and as I sang it I was reminded of how I got to the place where I am now.

I first remember driving through Chesterfield with my husband and his sister, on our way to Llangollen one Easter. It was a family tradition that they would go to Llangollen at Easter from their home in Lincolnshire, as their mother was born there and the aunts, uncles and cousins would meet in Llangollen at Easter. Interesting that Easter was chosen, since as a Christian now I can see this as a significant time in the Christian calendar.

In my last BLOG, I included a photograph of my husband and myself at a party in our Best Man’s barn on 21 May 1994. I didn’t know at the time, but it was on 21 May 1961 that John was christened in the church in Llangollen. Llangollen was also a place my family and I visited at Whitsun (Pentecost) 1965 (my first holiday after my confirmation on 19 March 1965) when we holidayed at Llandudno. As I look back now I can see God in my life’s journey, but I wasn’t able to see Him there until I was born again in 1994.

This morning I had the Powerpoint “Notices” on a USB stick that I had been given when I went to an Isabel Allum Conference and I noted that this stick came up described as “Kingston” data traveller on the laptop. Kingston is the place I lived before, during and immediately after my marriage. It is the place where John and I were married and now he lives just a few miles from our church meeting place, but he doesn’t have a relationship with Jesus and now he doesn’t have one with me either. But, God has brought us both to Chesterfield and I believe God was saying this morning that He has a great plan for Chesterfield (and perhaps even for John?).

Just as the word “Gplan” in the shop window opposite our church meeting place was something to do with furniture, I remembered John looking in a shop window in Kingston with Katie one evening when Katie and her husband, Stephen, were visiting us and we were walking to a restaurant. They were looking at “Chesterfield” sofas and now John and Katie are married and living in Chesterfield.

I suppose I should thank them for running off into the darkness together, because that is how I came into this wonderful relationship I have with Jesus. From a worldly point of view it is tough being a single woman again, but from a spiritual point of view I still thank God for what was and what is and what is to come.

We had a presentation about Street Pastors, as three of our congregation are Street Pastors in Chesterfield, and I thought of Katie’s son in particular and felt sad as I watched this video:

But, also I felt grateful to God for the ministry of Street Pastors and pray that he will get a touch from God through this ministry.

About jacquismith

I am a born again Christian (a follower of Jesus). I know that God loves me and He has a good purpose for my life. Psalm 139 tells me that He knew me before I was born and that every day ordained for me was written in the book before one came to pass. I know that I was put on this earth for a purpose and that my main purpose is simply to worship God. I hope you enjoy reading of some of the ways God has spoken to me through my life...
This entry was posted in Anniversaries, Bible, Chesterfield, Christianity, Family, Jesus, Kingston, Wales. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

