Grace’s Guide

I find from www.gracesguide.co.uk that Avro (the designer of Manchester, Lancaster and Lincoln aircraft that were used in WWII) was a subsidiary of Hawker Siddeley and that on 29 April 1977 (a date which 34 years later would be the wedding day of Prince William and Kate Middleton) Hawker Siddeley Aviation became a part of British Aerospace.

This links with the fact that on 10 January 1987 when I met the man who was to become my husband, John Wilson, I had been working on a long term temporary basis at British Aerospace on the B374 (Psalm 37:4) in Weybridge (having been transferred from another long term temporary assignment at British Aerospace in Kingston-upon-Thames when that site closed).

Not knowing anything about these links at the time; in 1994 when John (who had been born in Lincs) left me in Surrey, I was born again and moved to Lincs and to New Life Church Fellowship in Lincoln and it was whilst I was living just outside of Lincoln (on what had been Skellingthorpe Airbase during WWII) that I saw the Battle of Britain Memorial flight go over and God transposed into my mind a photograph that had been taken in Kingston-upon-Thames on 10 September 1988 of me coming out of the church on my wedding day with my groom and best man on either side.

When I originally moved to Lincs in 1995, I lived in Billingborough on the A1177 (my father had died in November 77, so this was a bit of a sad reminder). I then moved to Harrier Court (on what had been Skellingthorpe Airbase) just outside Lincoln in 1997. I was living there when Judge Pugsley in Chesterfield Crown Court granted my husband a decree nisi on 21 July 1997 followed by a decree absolute on 8 September 1997.  I remember finding it comforting that at the time of the decree absolute my church (not knowing about the decree absolute, but God knew) had sent my house group leaders (Diane (who had arrived in England from Northern Ireland on my birthday) and Adrian (who had attended the same school as my husband in Grantham)) to visit me about something and God was able to comfort me through them.

I now find from www.gracesguide.co.uk that the Harrier (an aircraft designed to take off vertically/on short runways) jump jet fighter planes

had been made at the British Aerospace site where I had worked in Kingston-upon-Thames. I am also reminded that I drove past the British Aerospace building in Kingston upon Thames on several occasions in the 1960’s, when I was a member of Banstead Congregational Church youth sailing group that sailed at Thames Young Mariners, on a gravel pit on the Ham Estate behind what was then the Hawker Siddeley building.

The back door of my house in Harrier Court led into Nightingale Crescent and when I moved to my next home, just along the road in Lime Tree Close, God gave me a lodger named Paul Nightingale.

Looking now at the road on which British Aerospace stood in Kingston-upon-Thames (A307), I am led again to look at the Psalms and to Psalm 30:7 “Lord, when you favoured me, you made my royal mountain (Mount Zion) stand firm; but when you hid your face, I was dismayed.” and I can say I have lived and am living this Psalm 30.

About jacquismith

I am a born again Christian (a follower of Jesus). I know that God loves me and He has a good purpose for my life. Psalm 139 tells me that He knew me before I was born and that every day ordained for me was written in the book before one came to pass. I know that I was put on this earth for a purpose and that my main purpose is simply to worship God. I hope you enjoy reading of some of the ways God has spoken to me through my life...
This entry was posted in Bible, Church, Kingston, Lancaster, Lincoln, Manchester. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

