DAM BUSTERS

On 21 March 2012, Peter Horrobin, founder of Ellel Ministries, spoke at Ellel’s “God of the Breakthrough” Conference in Blackpool. His title was “Dam Busters” which intrigued me as a title, because it is in my story.

Peter Horrobin was a student at Oxford and President of “SinS” (Science in Society) and, as such, he interviewed Sir Barnes Wallis, the man who invented the Bouncing Bomb that was used on the Dam Busters raid. Sir Barnes Wallis’ body is buried in St Lawrence’s graveyard in Effingham, where he had lived for many years and where he was Secretary to the Parochial Church Council.

I have a friend whom I met at Aglow in Guildford a few years ago, who previously lived in Oxford and has very recently moved to Effingham (which is on the A246). She had invited me to stay at her new home on my way home from my recent visit south for the Big Church Day Out.

St Lawrence

My sister was born on St Lawrence’s day (and was confirmed on the 30th anniversary of Israel becoming a nation), so that, coupled with the fact that Sir Barnes Wallis’ body was buried in St Lawrence’s churchyard, encouraged me to visit St Lawrence’s church on Monday morning (before finding my friend’s new home), to see what further God had to say to me.

There was a notice on the wall on the roadway saying something like “pay the church a visit”, but I didn’t expect it to be open. However, when I got closer I saw that the door was open just a crack, so I entered. On entering the church from the porch I looked left and saw stained glass windows of St Michael (whom I always think of as a warrior angel from the accounts in Daniel, Jude and Revelation) with a flaming sword in his right hand and St Raphael with a lamp in his left hand. Apparently Raphael means “It is God who Heals”. Their “Saints Day” is 29 September and this is mentioned in a previous story of mine in relation to Israel. But also, Rafael is the name of my friend in Effingham’s husband. I continued to walk into the church and was comforted to see a stained glass depicting Christ as the Good Shepherd (Psalm 23:1 “The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not be in want”).

I walked around the church and then went out into the churchyard to see if I could find the gravestone of Sir Barnes Wallis. I couldn’t, so I returned to the car to get some money to buy a guide book and postcard, returning to the church door just as a gentleman was locking up. It was obviously God’s timing for me to be there at that time, because I was able to see inside the church and then have a personal guide to show me the gravestone. Praise God for his kindness.

My friend has recently become a Roman Catholic and her local RC church is Our Lady of Sorrows.

I find that Our Lady of Sorrows’ Feast Day is 15 September, which is Battle of Britain Day, is my Best Man’s birthday and was the date I landed in Uganda in 2008 after being given a prophecy on 15 September 2003 that I would be going to Africa and would be feeding the hungry, both physically and spiritually and it would be a ministry where I would need to look to God for actual miracles and that He would multiply the food. I haven’t yet been involved in a miraculous ministry in Africa, but I am still believing God wants this, in His timing.

The Battle of Britain Memorial flight used Lancaster bombers, as did the Dambusters Raid. My friend was educated at Lancaster University.

I saw the Battle of Britain Memorial flight go overhead in Lincoln on 17 May 1998, which was the Anniversary of the Dambusters Raid.

The body of Sir Barnes Wallis (the inventor of the Bouncing Bomb used by the Dambusters Raid) is buried in St Lawrence’s Churchyard in Effingham.

My sister was born on St Lawrence’s Day and there is a battle for her life that has been going on for more than half her life and it is out of my relationship to her and my concern for her that I came to know Jesus as my Lord, Saviour and Friend.

And that reminds me of the Sunday Service at the Big Church Day Out last Sunday. Just a few of us “Campers” met in the Children’s Tent and it was a bit cold and squashed. But the first song we sang was “I am a Friend of God”

and I was reminded of how it had been the first song we sang on that trip to Uganda in 2008, when we visited Kampala Pentecostal Church (the home of Watoto). It was a bit squashed in that church on that Sunday morning too, but it was HOT!

This morning I was back in my home and turned on my radio to hear UCB Christian Radio playing “I am a Friend of God”. I think there may be a message in that and the truth is that He wants everybody to be His friend.

Whilst with my friend and her family in Effingham, we travelled to Guildford to watch a film that was about humans travelling billions of miles to try to find their creator, but the truth is He is only a prayer away.

And this is the prayer I prayed in 1994 when John left and I invited Jesus into my life:

Dear Heavenly Father

I respond to your invitation and come to you in the name of your Son, Jesus Christ.

I come with all my sins, heartaches and addictions.

I turn away from evil and turn to you, Lord Jesus.

I put my faith in you alone. You are the Son of the Living God.

I believe with my heart what I now confess with my mouth: you are my Saviour, my Lord and my God.

Thank you for having accepted me as your child. I open myself for your Holy Spirit and will follow you all the days of my life. I believe you and receive you.

I ask it in the name of Jesus.

Amen

About jacquismith

I am a born again Christian (a follower of Jesus). I know that God loves me and He has a good purpose for my life. Psalm 139 tells me that He knew me before I was born and that every day ordained for me was written in the book before one came to pass. I know that I was put on this earth for a purpose and that my main purpose is simply to worship God. I hope you enjoy reading of some of the ways God has spoken to me through my life...
This entry was posted in Aglow, Anniversaries, Bible, Church, Friends, Guildford, Healing, Lancaster, Uganda. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

