A trip down memory lane with God

I had been looking on E-bay for a week or two, wanting to purchase an Ikea Poäng chair and footstool for the bedroom where I was staying in Guildford. I had seen that they were going for around £20 and that seemed reasonable, but I had not been able to “win” any.  On 19 August I put in a sneaky bid of £15.50 for a chair and footstool in Crawley, as I had seen someone “win” a set for £15.00. The bidding was due to end over the bank holiday weekend and I was back home in Derbyshire at that time, with no internet access. When I returned to Guildford on the Monday I found that I had “won” for £13.50. I definitely felt it was God’s provision and I drove to Crawley after work at Compassion on the following day, Tuesday 26 August (the date I think of as my “born again” day as it was on this date in 1994 that I awoke after a suicide attempt, using a load of my sister’s psychiatric pills that should have killed me).

As I drove to Crawley from Weybridge, I passed through Reigate past the buildings where my sister and my father had worked and then past the crematorium where my mother’s body had been cremated and then I drove past the area where my close school friend, Heather, had lived when she was first married. I had met her at my primary school and she had taken me to her Sunday School when they were doing a recruitment drive when I was around 7 and we had then attended the same senior school and I had lived with her and her husband and children for a month or two at the end of 1994/beginning of 1995, after I was made homeless when my estranged husband and I sold our home in Kingston upon Thames.

Finally, I turned onto Turners Hill Road, as the chair and footstool were in a house in Worth, just off Turners Hill Road. God reminded me of how I had been sent to visit Pauline and Paul and their five daughters in Turners Hill in 1985 and again in 1994. They were born again Christians who were related to my college friend, Susan, and they were God’s provision for me as I began to learn about Him in 1985 and gave my life to Him and was born again in 1994.

Ikea Chair and Footstool

The seller of the chair and footstool was a lovely lady and she helped me get the chair and footstool into my car. I then drove back through Reigate on my way back to Guildford, but not past the places my father and sister had worked; then my route took me through Dorking, the town where my sister is living. Finally, I arrived in Guildford and there was no one in to help me to get the furniture out of the car and into the house. However, again God had provided as a man and his daughter “just happened” to be walking past and offered to help me (I had not asked, he simply offered). WOW, God is so good to me. This wasn’t just a trip to get some furniture, this was a trip to remind me of how God had been with me throughout significant times in my life, even though I hadn’t known at the time that He was.

 

About jacquismith

I am a born again Christian (a follower of Jesus). I know that God loves me and He has a good purpose for my life. Psalm 139 tells me that He knew me before I was born and that every day ordained for me was written in the book before one came to pass. I know that I was put on this earth for a purpose and that my main purpose is simply to worship God. I hope you enjoy reading of some of the ways God has spoken to me through my life...
This entry was posted in Anniversaries, Father God, Friends, Guildford, History, Holy Spirit, Kingston. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

