Give All

Last week one of our Compassion office volunteers came to us with a great monetary donation that she had received from her church’s Mission Sunday event.  Her church is Merland Rise Church and two of the church elders are Gary and Lec Mann, who went to the same school as me some forty-five to fifty years ago.

De Burgh Mug

I mentioned this to Sarah, our office volunteer, and she told me that she herself lives in a property built on the site where my school had been. This served to remind me of my school motto and, because I know that every day of my life has been planned in advance by God, I thought again about that school motto “Give All” and why God might have given me that school motto.

Rebecca and I have been talking recently about what “dying to self” means and it means giving “all” of ourselves to God. Here are a few scriptures that I believe illustrate “Giving All”:-

Galatians 2:20 English Standard Version (ESV) says:

“I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

Luke 9:23 English Standard Version (ESV) says:

And he said to all, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.”

Mark 8:35 English Standard Version (ESV) says:

“For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake and the gospel’s will save it.”

Romans 12:1 English Standard Version (ESV) says:

“I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.”

2 Corinthians 5:17 English Standard Version (ESV) says:

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.”

Colossians 3:23-24 English Standard Version (ESV) says:

“Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ.”

1 Corinthians 9:24-25 English Standard Version (ESV) says:

“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable.

1 Corinthians 10:31 English Standard Version (ESV) says:

“So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”

Ecclesiastes 9:10 English Standard Version (ESV) says:

“Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with your might, for there is no work or thought or knowledge or wisdom in Sheol, to which you are going.”

 

And, a scripture from last Sunday’s church meeting:-

Luke 10:27 New International Version (NIV) says:

“ ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbour as yourself.’ “

About jacquismith

I am a born again Christian (a follower of Jesus). I know that God loves me and He has a good purpose for my life. Psalm 139 tells me that He knew me before I was born and that every day ordained for me was written in the book before one came to pass. I know that I was put on this earth for a purpose and that my main purpose is simply to worship God. I hope you enjoy reading of some of the ways God has spoken to me through my life...
This entry was posted in Bible, Compassion UK, History, Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

