I am a friend of God

Yesterday at the River of Life meeting in Jacobs Well our speaker was talking on the subject of Intercession and of how God wants to have an intimate relationship with us. Wikipedia defines Emotional Intimacy as “a psychological event that happens when trust levels and communication between two people are such that it fosters the mutual sharing of one another’s deepest selves.”

It is so amazing and wonderful that God, who created the whole universe and everything in it, would want to communicate with us on that level, but He does. He wants to have a deep relationship with us, not just a high days and holidays or when we can/must fit Him into our daily lives, but a DEEP relationship, deeper than we have with any human being.

I was reminded of my visit to Southport in 2001, where God told me I needed to have an intimate relationship with Him so that I wouldn’t be intimidated. But it is more than that, it is about sharing my thoughts with God and Him sharing His thoughts with me, in a way that only close friends will do.

Our speaker talked about Abraham being a Friend of God and about our being a “Friend of God” and I was reminded of attending the Kampala Pentecostal Church (now Watoto Church), Uganda one Sunday in September 2008 and how the first song we sang was “I am a Friend of God” and how I felt that God wanted me to KNOW that I was a friend of His. I then thought about how God had led me to being in that Church on that Sunday and about how God had spoken to me through his prophets in Leatherhead on 15th September (Battle of Britain Day) 2003:

“He is building in you a new level of understanding in the way He communicates. That, just as you are a networker and a communicator, so you will even network and communicate with Him, between Him and other people and you will bring people to Him through that networking and communicating gift.  And He says, work with the flow of my Spirit, come to me and learn of me, how I teach you to flow with my Spirit, come closer, come closer, for it is time to come into a deeper relationship with me.”

I’m not there yet, but I want to be and I need to be.

And how He also spoke to me through his prophets in Leatherhead on 15th September 2003 the following:

“And, as He stretches you and as He makes connections, I see you connected with Africa and I believe you are gonna go to Africa and God’s gonna bring you into a Compassion ministry in Africa and you’re going to be feeding the hungry and your gonna be feeding them physical food and spiritual food and it’s gonna be a ministry where you need to look to Him for miracles, for actual miracles and He is going to, He is going to multiply, He’s gonna multiply physically the food that you have.”

And how on 15th August 2005 I started working for Compassion UK and met Anne Nantale, a Ugandan girl working in the office, who said “When I marry you must come to my wedding”. And how that resulted in my landing at Entebbe, Uganda on 15th September 2008 to attend her wedding and to attend the Kampala Pentecostal Church on 21st September 2008 to be told by God that “I am a friend of God”.

I am not yet seeing the miracles that God promised on 15th September 2003, but I want to and we need to.

Particularly, I want to see miracles in my sister’s life. I went to visit her after the River of Life meeting yesterday and I know that it is only through an intimate relationship with God that she can be free from all that holds her back. She was OK, but she is not leading the “full life” that Jesus promised in John 10:10. I was a bit disappointed to have to leave her, but as I turned the engine on in my car, Premier Christian radio started up and Marilyn Skinner, the woman who with her husband Gary started Kampala Pentecostal Church and Watoto, was speaking. Now, I have to tell you that she is what I would call a Friend of God !

 

About jacquismith

I am a born again Christian (a follower of Jesus). I know that God loves me and He has a good purpose for my life. Psalm 139 tells me that He knew me before I was born and that every day ordained for me was written in the book before one came to pass. I know that I was put on this earth for a purpose and that my main purpose is simply to worship God. I hope you enjoy reading of some of the ways God has spoken to me through my life...
This entry was posted in Father God, Guildford, Holy Spirit, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

