Darkness to Light – Colossians 1:13

My first dance with John Wilson (when I met him at my cousin John Jeffers’ wedding on 10th January 1987) was to “New York, New York”.

On September 11th 1999 my mother died.

On September 10th 2001 (my wedding anniversary) I was at a church catering committee meeting at the Lincoln home of Paul and Mary Reet (when I married in Kingston upon Thames in 1988 I had become Jacqui Wilson and was told that Jackie Wilson had sung a song called “Reet Petit”) .

As I entered Paul and Mary’s living room I saw a book on the coffee table about the North American Indians (whom the Pilgrim Fathers met when they arrived in the Americas I believe). We had the catering meeting and, as we were leaving, someone noticed an American calendar on the Reet’s hallway wall. The photograph for September 2001 was a night-time photograph of New York.

Mary Reet (who is quite petite) then flipped over the pages and showed us a photograph of St Lucia (a Caribbean island where Dawn, my Guildford landlady of 2008-2010, grew up). I now know that in Sweden St Lucia/St Lucy is celebrated and they have a Festival of Light on 13 December each year. The story is that St Lucy lost her eyesight and God miraculously healed her.

The following day, September 11th 2001, I had the day off from my job to await the delivery from Wickes (interesting how even here God is speaking of light – as in wicks of candles) of the parts to make a built in wardrobe. These arrived at 10:10 a.m (it was around this time on September 11th in 1999 that I had been informed by staff at East Surrey Hospital that my mother had died, as I was driving to collect my sister, Suzanne, to go to the hospital to visit our mother). Remember John 10:10.

With me in Lincoln on September 11th in 2001 was Martin Joy (who was born on St Botolph’s Day) and a young lady called Samantha (who had moved in to lodge with me on the previous day – my wedding anniversary). At precisely 1:50 p.m. Samantha’s mother (who “happens” to be Swedish) arrived and I was led to read Psalm 150 from my Bible. This would have been at the time between each of the two planes hitting the Twin Towers in New York, and before we were aware of anything happening in New York. The planes had taken off from Boston Mass, the name of which comes from Boston in Lincolnshire UK. The name Boston comes from St Botolph’s Stone.

Using the photographs on the Reet’s American Calendar – it was as if God was saying that light would come out of darkness, as indeed it did when I became born again as a result of John leaving me in June 1994 – Colossians 1:13. Using the planes hitting the Twin Towers – it was as if the Twin Towers were John and myself and that our marriage fell as a result of an enemy attack from the devil using human beings, just as those Twin Towers fell as a result of an enemy attack from the devil using human beings, but that the most important thing is “eternal life” rather than this life we lead on earth and that the end of the story is and will be “Let Everything that has Breath Praise the Lord” (Psalm 150).

My life has been so “rich” spiritually since 1994. It has not been without challenges, since bearing the name Christian means that the devil is out to get you even more, but to know Almighty Father God, who sent His son Jesus to die on the cross to bring reconciliation and who then left the Holy Spirit as our Comforter and Counsellor, is amazing.

Colossians 1:9-14

9…….. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives,  10 so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, 11 being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, 12 and giving joyful thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of his holy people in the kingdom of light. 13 For he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves, 14 in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.”

 

 

About jacquismith

I am a born again Christian (a follower of Jesus). I know that God loves me and He has a good purpose for my life. Psalm 139 tells me that He knew me before I was born and that every day ordained for me was written in the book before one came to pass. I know that I was put on this earth for a purpose and that my main purpose is simply to worship God. I hope you enjoy reading of some of the ways God has spoken to me through my life...
This entry was posted in Anniversaries, Boston, New York, St Botolph and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

