Psalm 42:7 – Deep Calls to Deep

On the morning of 18th January 2024 I was thinking about how God wants us to (and knows we need to) have a close relationship with Him, in order to fulfil all He has for us and to not let our hearts be troubled by stuff.

I was reminded of Hebrews 11:6 “And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.”, a scripture I was given when I bought my home in Hereward Close in 2005.

And Psalm 42:7 “Deep calls to deep in the roar of your waterfalls; all your waves and breakers have swept over me”.

Later that day I was looking at my new emails and there was one from Ashburnham Place letting me know of events coming up. Ashburnham Place is the place where my sister met God in 1981 at a youth weekend away. For about the last ten years the director there has been Hannah Atkins-Latty from Lincoln. Her father led a church called Threshold in Lincoln and I attended there in 2003 immediately before I went back to Surrey to live.

I looked at the courses that Ashburnham Place was putting on, and one entitled Deep Calling Unto Deep (26th to 29th March 2024) jumped out at me, so I immediately booked myself onto it.

I then went onto the website of the lady leading the course, to find out more about her. I love her vision and interestingly I saw from her website that the course was originally the week before. That would have conflicted with the John Mark Comer Practicing the Way course I am doing in Nottingham, so great that it has been moved (a God thing perhaps).

On 22nd January 2024, I got an email from Ashburnham Place letting me know that they are putting on monthly Prayer and Worship evenings (8pm til midnight) and I thought to myself that they wouldn’t be having one whilst I was there.  However, when I looked at the dates I saw there was in fact one on the evening of the Wednesday of the Deep Calling Unto Deep course. So special, since God often talks to me during times of worship.

And then, God led me to a video on You Tube, where Hannah is singing Deep Cries Out to Deep a couple of years ago:

And, on 23rd January 2024 the Holy Spirit pointed out that Psalm 42:7 leads into Psalm 42:8, another very special scripture to me, that God gave me when I bought my Peugeot Cabriolet car in 2000 that had the registration plate number J428AYD.

The story of that purchase is here

I also like that the car was a Peugeot 205 CJ (reminding me of Christ Jesus)

And here is another lovely Deep Cries Out song, from Bethel Kids:

About jacquismith

I am a born again Christian (a follower of Jesus). I know that God loves me and He has a good purpose for my life. Psalm 139 tells me that He knew me before I was born and that every day ordained for me was written in the book before one came to pass. I know that I was put on this earth for a purpose and that my main purpose is simply to worship God. I hope you enjoy reading of some of the ways God has spoken to me through my life...
This entry was posted in Ashburnham Place, Bible, Christianity, Faith, Family, History, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Prayer, Psalm and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Psalm 42:7 – Deep Calls to Deep

  1. Pingback: Ashburnham Place | The Cross is in the Field

Leave a comment